Tibbits Holds Annual Volunteer Reception

Coldwater, MI – Tibbits celebrated volunteers on May 14, 2019 and longtime volunteer Diane Riegel was recognized as Volunteer of the Year.

Tibbits Opera Foundation Board President, Rick Merrill welcomed over 75 volunteers to kick off the evening before those who reached milestones for service hours were honored.

Tibbits Executive Director Christine Delaney thanked all of the volunteers who contribute so much time and talent to Tibbits.  Last year, over 7,480 volunteer hours were donated by 320 active volunteers.  Delaney then recognized Volunteer of the Year, Diane Riegel. Riegel has over 2800 hours in her volunteer career, is an usher, helps with the annual auction, and is the past Booster Board President. Riegel helped on many committees and served as chair for Dancing with the Celebrities, the Art Wall project, Doll-O-Rama and the Pirate Adventure. Delaney noted, “Back in 2006, Diane answered a call, and allowed herself to be persuaded into taking the lead on an idea we had for a new organization to coordinate and recognize Tibbits’ many volunteers. Diane had the skillset we needed to create a structure, write the policies and establish the committees for what became Tibbits Boosters.”

Riegel received a bouquet of flowers and $100 in Chamber checks. She spoke of volunteering at Tibbits, saying “I really couldn’t have done it without any of you.  It has been a great opportunity to volunteer at Tibbits with so many great people.”

Tibbits Volunteer Liaison Amy Crabtree recognized volunteers who reached certain milestones for their hours of service. “Act I” volunteers worked 100 hours and included Megan Smith, Beth Harvey, Paul Woirol, and Penny Ireland. Stephanie Burdick, Sylvia Johns, and Rick Merrill were recognized as “Act II” volunteers with 200 hours. “Curtain Call” volunteers were recognized for working 300 hours and included Stan Bushouse, Keith Gardner, Linda Gardner, and Jayne Lillis. “Ovation” volunteers were recognized for working 400 hours and included Barb Hantz and Nancy Sprow.  Linzy Monks received a 50 hour Understudy pin meant for volunteers under 18 years of age. All levels receive pins denoting the number of hours. At the “Encore” level, those over 500 hours, Suzanne Fillmore, Joan Waterbury, Pat Woirol, and Alison Harvey each received an engraved name badge.

Understudy volunteers who received pins but were not able to attend include, Julia Kirk, Shaun Coleman, Connor Kaniewski, Owen Needham, Emily McIndoe, Jaden Swartz, Lydia Kaniewski, Jillian McKinley, Sarah Forrister, William Odisher, and Lexi Galliers.  Volunteers receiving pins for 100 or more hours unable to attend include Carol Tinervia, Patricia Jackson, Stacy Guertler, Sue Greenamyer, Doug Bloom, Laura Lutterbeck, Kathleen Farrand, Ann Boltz, JoAnn Lloyd, Dee Smith , Vena Wade, Monica Wyss, Cathy Gordon, Dorla Horkey, Pam Kasprzyk, Gail Russell, and Molly VanStone.

The event was organized by the Booster reception committee Diana Conant, Shirley Easterday, Gail Russell and Angela Washburn.  Dinner was served by Tasteful Kreations Catering and Randall Hazelbaker provided entertainment for the night.

For information on becoming a volunteer for Tibbits call Amy at 517-278-6029 or visit www.Tibbits.org.